

Policy Replaces a Previous Policy (this includes change in policy name): ⊠Yes/ □No
If so, list name of previous policy (include policy number if different): Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award - Process for Faculty Selection (no previous policy number issued)
Policy Number (issued by the Office of Academic Affairs upon final approval): ADMIN-1221-23
Policy Owner (Individual, Department, or Committee/Chair): Deidre Pierce, MD / Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Committees, Departments, or Individuals Responsible for Implementation: Office of Student Affairs
Original Approval Date and Who Approved by: 11/30/2021 / Deidre Pierce, MD
Effective Date(s): 11/30/2021
Revision Date(s) (include a brief description) and Who Approved by (made by Policy Owner and/or Policy Advisory Committee):
Administrative Edits (briefly describe) by Staff and/or the Policy Advisory Committee (PAC) and Date (these revisions do not require voting/approval by the policy owner):
Exemption(s) to Policy (date, by what committee or individual, and brief description):
LCME Required Policy: □Yes/ ⊠No
If yes, please list the Element(s) Affiliated with this Policy (include Element number/name/statement):
All policies will be reviewed by the Policy Advisory Committee every three years unless an earlier review is identified.
Date of Review:
Revisions Made: □Yes/ □No
If yes, list revisions made: Revisions Require Approval by Policy Owner: \(\sqrt{Yes} / \sqrt{No} \)

Policy Statement:

The Gold Foundation sponsors the annual Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards for a graduating student and faculty member at over 85 of the nation's medical schools. This award is presented to the student and faculty member who best demonstrate the Foundation's ideals of outstanding compassion in the delivery of care, respect for patients, their families, and healthcare colleagues, as well as demonstrated clinical excellence.

Template Version: 4/23/2024 Page **1** of **4**

Purpose of Policy:

The Gold Foundation began this award in 1991 at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons. The Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey began replicating these awards nationwide in 1998, with participation from The Gold Foundation. In 2003, with a generous donation from Leonard Tow, these awards became solely sponsored and administered by The Gold Foundation. Medical schools wishing to bestow this pair of awards should abide by the criteria set forth in their selection process.

Scope of Policy (applies to):

All Quillen College of Medicine faculty.

Policy Activities:

Medical Students

The initial call to the class for nominations will be made by the Office of Student Affairs at the beginning of February with the final selection occurring by mid-March. The Financial Aid & Scholarship Committee will review the submitted nominations and select the most deserving graduating student to receive the award.

- Consistently demonstrates compassion and empathy in the delivery of care to patients
- Illustrates professional and ethical behavior by example
- Shows respect for everyone
- Demonstrates cultural sensitivity in working with patients and family members of diverse backgrounds
- Displays effective communication and listening skills—good rapport with patients
- Understands patients' need for interpretation of complex medical diagnosis and treatment and makes an effort to assure patient comprehension—shows respect for the patients' viewpoint
- Helps to articulate the patients' concerns to attending physicians and others
- Sensitive to the patients' psychological well-being
- Cooperative, easy to work with—engenders trust and confidence
- Willing to help others and, when necessary, willing to seek help from others
- Displays concern for the general welfare of the community and engages in volunteer activities
- Seeks and accepts criticism, using it to improve performance
- Committed to reflection and objective self-evaluation of his/her skills
- Displays competence in scientific endeavors

Prior Medical Student Recipients

1999	2000	2001	2002	2003	2004	2005
Stephen Loyd	Andrew Pierce	Bram Pinkley	Jeffrey Cook		Nia Noelle Milan Zalemea	Eric Parks
2006	2007	2008	2009	2010	2011	2012
Ryan Petering	Lauren Chipman	Matthew Stone	Erin Jackson	James Hula, Jr	Kristin Cardona	Stephanie Hart
2013	2014	2015	2016	2017	2018	2019
William Buselmeier	Whitney Ross	Joshua Davis		Jennifer Bowman	Abby Schultz	Kathryn Shelton
2020	2021	2022	2023	2024	2025	2026
Andrew Donahue	Victoria Stabile					

Faculty Members

Three faculty members will be nominated by the senior class. The three names will be accompanied by a bio-sketch of no more than 150

words for each of the three candidates indicating how the class believes each candidate meets the criteria established by the Gold Foundation. The three nominees will then be presented to a faculty committee consisting of prior faculty award winners for the final selection. The initial call to the class for nominations will be by the Office of Student Affairs by the beginning of February with the final selection occurring by mid-March.

Medical School Faculty Member Criteria

- Consistently demonstrates compassion and empathy in the delivery of care to patients
- Serves as a role model—illustrates professional behavior by example
- Approachable and accessible to students
- Welcomes opportunities for teaching and one-on-one mentorships with students
- Exhibits enthusiasm and skill in professional and personal interactions with students
- Shows respect for the viewpoint of others, even when it differs from their own
- Demonstrates cultural sensitivity in working with patients and family members of diverse backgrounds
- Displays effective communication and listening skills
- Understands patients' need for interpretation of complex medical diagnoses and treatments and makes an effort to ensure patient comprehension—shows respect for the patient's viewpoint
- Sensitive to the patients' psychological well-being
- Effectively identifies emotional concerns of patients and family members
- Cooperative, respectful and easy to work with engenders trust and confidence
- Adheres to professional and ethical standards
- Committed to reflection and objective self-evaluation of his/her skills
- Displays competence in scientific endeavors

Prior Faculty Recipients

1999	2000	2001	2002	2003	2004	2005
,			L			Dr. Thomas Townsend, Jr.
2006	2007	2008	2009	2010	2011	2012
Dr. Mary Hooks	Dr. Joe Florence					Dr. Bhuvana Guha
2013	2014	2015	2016	2017	2018	2019
Dr. Jack Goldstein	Dr. Dawn Tuell	Dr. Todd Aiken	Dr. Jason Moore	•		Dr. Patti Amadio
2020	2021	2022	2023	2024	2025	2026
	Dr. Mark Brummel					

Administrative Reviews/Approvals	Date Approved
University Compliance (if applicable)	
Policy Advisory Committee (includes three-year reviews)	3/17/2022
Associate Dean for Accreditation Compliance (if	
applicable)	
Vice Dean for Academic Affairs	

Policy Review and/or Revision Completed By (if applicable)	Date Policy Reviewed and/or Approved (if applies to that department, committee, or group)
Office of the Dean	
Office of Academic Affairs	3/17/2022
Office of Student Affairs	11/30/2021
Department of Medical Education	
Medical Student Education Committee	
Student Promotions Committee	
Faculty Advisory Council	
Administrative Council	
M1/M2 Course Directors	
M3/M4 Clerkship/Course Directors	
Student Groups/Organizations (describe):	
Other (describe):	

Final Policy Emailed to:	Date of Email Notifications
Medical Education Director for Posting on Educational Policies Website	5/1/2024
Policy Owner	5/1/2024
Admissions Office for Catalog (only new policies)	