Golf Classic

golf topper 


2014 ETSU Alumni Golf Classic is coming

The 48th annual ETSU Alumni Golf Classic was held at Cattails Golf Course at MeadowView Convention Center in Kingsport on Friday, September 19, 2014.

2013 ETSU Alumni Golf Classic
Over 110 alumni, friends, faculty, staff and students participated in the two person select shot tournament held by the ETSU National Alumni Association. Golfers chose from one of eight divisions: the Gold Division for players with a handicap of 10 and under; the Blue Division for those with a handicap of 11-20; the White Division for players with a handicap of 21 or more; Faculty/Staff; Women; Greeks; Seniors; and Co-ed (male/female).

The champions of the Gold Flight were Jeff Blake and Brian Greenway who won with a score of 60. Brian Bailey and Eric Bailey came in second with a score of 64. In the Blue Division, Vinnie Reddy and Travis Sandlant won with a score of 62. Shooting a 64, Anthony Payne and Daniel Sochalski were the runners-up. The White Division crowned Ivan Clipse and Josh Scott the champions with a score of 71. Joel Dahlhauser and Kevin Masters were second claiming a score of 73.

In the Women's Division, Jan Compton and Marilyn Martin won with a score of 66. Jenny Brock and Sharon Squibb shot a 68 to claim second place. In the ETSU Faculty and Staff Division, first place winners were Larry Smith and Bill Toohey who won with a score of 69. With a score of 71, Dan Brown and Don Johnson were runners-up.

Winning the Co-Ed Division after a scorecard playoff were Chris Kwasigroch and Tom Kwasigroch with a score of 71. Also scoring 71, LaDonna Curtis and Dennis Curtis came in second. The Senior Division champions were Roger Carpenter and Lynn Conner, who won with a score of 61. Larry Calhoun and Randy Merritt shot a 63 to take second place. In the Greek Division, Joseph Beaudoin and Buck Mabe of Sigma Chi won with a score of 64. David Blythe and Tim Way, also of Sigma Chi, were the runners-up with a score of 70. Pat Bolander and Josh White won the Student Flight with a score of 65. Shooting a score of 68, Colin Bruner and Matthew Foxworthy claimed second place.

Other tournament contest winners include Evan Crigger, who won the Men's Longest Drive challenge, and Matthew Grissinger, who won the Men's Closest to the Pin competition. Marilyn Martin won the Longest Drive with Janna Scarborough winning the Closest to the Pin in the Women's competitions.


Thank you to the 2013 Sponsors of the ETSU Alumni Golf Classic

American Hole 'n One
Beef O'Brady's - Kingsport
Branham Corporation
Carnegie Hotel
Chaparral Pontiac Buick GMC
Dent K. Burk Associates,P.C.
Dr. J. Allen Burleson, D.D.S., P.C.
ETSU Foundation
General Shale
Knoxville TVA Employees Credit Union
Johnson City Power Board
Johnson City Press
Mahoney's Outfitters
Mickey E. Tyler Insurance
Millennium Centre
Mountain States Title Company
News & Neighbor
The Law Offices of R. J. Bradford, Jr.
The Trophy Shop
WJHL 11 Connects
WTFM 98.5
FREE Massage/warmup stretch courtesy of Jones Chiropratic