Basler Chair

About the Basler Chair of Excellence

In 1994 the Wayne G. Basler Chair of Excellence for the Integration of the Arts, Rhetoric, and Science was named in honor of an individual who has continuously supported the university over many years. This chair helps to bridge the gap in academia between the sciences, the arts, and the humanities disciplines.

Chairholders serve for one semester, or the equivalent, allowing a number of individuals from a variety of fields to participate over time. The primary duties of the chairholder are to teach two courses, typically one undergraduate and one graduate, and to present four public lectures/performances.

The Basler Chair Committee

The Basler Chair Nomination Procedure

Past Basler Chairholders*:


2013- Mary Jane Jacob (fall 13/spring 14)

2012- Dr. Thomas Schmickl (fall 2012)

2011 - Dr. Jennings Bryant (fall 2011)

2010 - Dr. Molly Faries (fall 2010)

2009 - Dr. Phillip Rhodes (fall 2009)

2008 - Dr. Graham Leonard (spring 2009)

2007 - Ivars Peterson (spring 2008)

2006 - Dr. George Kampis (spring 2007)

2005 - Dr. Martin A. Hendry

2004 - Mr. Mel Chin

2003 - Mr. John Blake, Jr.

2002 - Dr. John Shelton Reed (fall semester)

2001 - Dr. Anne LaBastille (fall semester)

2000 - Dr. George Gale (fall semester)

1999 - Lisa Alther (fall semester)

1999 - Patrick Cronin (spring semester)

1998 - Coramae Richey Mann

1997 - Gustavo Perez Firmat

1996 - John Bowers (fall semester)

*Created in 1994 but no chairholder chosen until 1996




Past Holders of the Basler Chair

Mary Jane Jacob

Mary Jane Jacob (Fall 2013/Spring 2014)

Dr. Thomas Schmickl 


Dr. Thomas Schmickl (Fall 2012)


Dr. Jennings Bryant
Dr. Jennings Bryant (fall 2011)
Dr. Molly Faries (fall 2010)
Dr. Phillip Rhodes
Dr. Phillip Rhodes (Fall 2009)
Dr. Graham Leonard
Dr. Graham Leonard (Spring 2009)
Ivars Peterson
Ivars Peterson (Spring 2008)