Department of Literature and Language

Literature and Language Faculty, 2011

The Department of Literature and Language faculty, August 2011: Front row (left to right): Cao, Bray, Keller, Sawyer, Slagle, Thompson, Dufort, Holland, Lloyd, Barber; second row: Waage, Buck, Kim, Hall, Weiss, Grover, Cajka, Haley, Nelson, Mwinyelle; third row: Tezuka-Arnold, Pierce, Cody, Graves, Holmes, Lichtenwalner, Kornweibel, Negrisanu, Heil; fourth row: Crofts, Elhindi, McManus, Bolton, Westover, Overaa, G'Fellers, Barker, Harrington; back row: Johnson, O'Donnell, Baumgartner, Crooke, Fehskens, McGarry, Michieka, Whaley, and French. Not pictured: Briggs, Honaker, and Stanley.

Department of Literature and Language Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Literature & Language at East Tennessee State University is to unite a group of faculty members with a diversity of interests in English and languages but with a common dedication to teaching, scholarship, and service. We serve our students through our commitment to a diverse curriculum and our support of the University's general education core and B.A. foreign language requirement. 

Department Resources

The Clarion--Course Descriptions for Summer and Fall 2014 Sessions

ENGL 1010 Writing Assignment Guidelines

ETSU Undergraduate Catalogs and Graduate Catalogs

Department Policies

Departmental Student Attendance Policy

Departmental Plagiarism Policy

Foreign Language Placement Policy

Welcome to our website!

Sherrod Library ETSU at JCU Abroad Sigma Tau Delta: English Honorary
Delta Phi Alpha: German Honorary Pi Delta Phi: French Honorary Sigma Delta Pi: Spanish Honorary

The Jack Higgs Reading Series (sponsored by ETSU's arts and literature magazine THE MOCKINGBIRD) will feature poet Don Johnson on Wednesday, April 23 at 7:30 p.m. in the Ball Hall auditorium on ETSU's campus. A reception and book signing will follow in the adjacent Slocumb Galleries. The event is free and open to the public.

This event also marks the release of the 41st edition of THE MOCKINGBIRD. 2014 recipients of THE MOCKINGBIRD Prize for outstanding written work in one of the magazine's genres will be recognized at the start of the evening. Free copies of THE MOCKINGBIRD will be available at the reading.

Don Johnson is a professor and poet in residence at ETSU, where he has been on the faculty for over thirty years. His poetry collections include THE IMPORTANCE OF VISIBLE SCARS (1984), WATAUGA DRAWDOWN (1990), and HERE & GONE: NEW AND SELECTED POEMS (2009). He has also published numerous articles on the literature of sport as well as Appalachian literature, and has edited a collection of contemporary baseball poetry. Two-time winner of the Ruth Berrien Fox Award from the New England Poetry Club, and the recipient of a Tennessee Arts Commission Individual Artist Award, Johnson has recently published a new volume of poetry, entitled MORE THAN HEAVY RAIN.

The Jack Higgs reading series commemorates THE MOCKINGBIRD's first faculty advisor, Dr. Jack Higgs. For more information, contact 2014 student editor Maggie Colvett at .  

The Department of Literature and Language has determined its scholarships and awards for the 2013-2014 academic year. You can find details here.

Dr. Robert Sawyer of our department and Dr. Kirk Melnikoff of the University of North Carolina have been jointly awarded the the twenty-fourth Calvin & Rose G. Hoffman Prize for a distinguished publication on Christopher Marlowe. Dr. Sawyer's essay, "Recent Reckonings: Marlowe, Shakespeare and 21st Century Terrorism," explores how recent conspiracy theory frenzy has fueled increased speculation that Shakespeare has not authored many works attributed to him. To learn more about this award, visit The Marlowe Society website.

Dr. Josh Reid's essay, "Softening the Brows of Dread Renown: Rossetti's Revision of Dantean Portraiture," an exploration of the artisitc construction of Dante in portraiture, has won the 2013 Charles Hall Grandgent Award, given to the best essay submitted by a graduate student from a university in the United States or Canada. The essay prize has been given each year since 1887 by the Dante Society of America (founded in 1881 by Longfellow, Lowell, and Norton), the premier organization focused on the study of the life and works of Dante Alighieri. You can get more information here:

Our department's administration has made some changes for the upcoming academic year. Dr. Martha Michieka now serves as our department's assistant chair for undergraduate studies. Dr. Katherine Weiss is now our assistant chair for graduate studies. Dr. Katrina Heil now serves as our assistant chair of foreign language studies. Best wishes to all for your new appointments!

Mockingbird 2013The 2013 edition of The Mockingbird, ETSU's student literary/arts magazine, has been released from its publisher and is available around the ETSU campus, but you can read it in its entirety here.

If you wish to declare an English major, please contact Professor Martha Michieka (); if you are already an English major, you can find your adviser on this list.