User Roles

Administrators
Some users from the Office of Information Technology, including the D2L administrator and the OIT HelpDesk, and Academic Technology and the Office of eLearning and Online Education have access to D2L course sites.  These users have all signed a Confidentiality Agreement that may be downloaded here.


Download D2L Confidentiality Agreement [PDF]

Additionally, members of the Tennessee Board of Regents may have access to your sites.


Grader
Graders have many of the same permissions as Instructors.  The differences in the Grader and Instructor roles are listed below. 

Graders are not automatically put into all course groups and they cannot:
     Delete course feedback
     Delete discussion messages posted by others
     Enroll an instructor


Guest
Guest status does not refer to a non-ETSU user in D2L.  This role is for users who have ETSU accounts but should only have very limited access to the course materials within D2L.  Guests have access to the following items in D2L:
     Articles
     FAQ
     Glossary
     Links
     Course Content
     News
     Pager


Instructor
Instructor is the default role assigned to users who are teaching a course. Instructors have full access to edit course settings, all course content, add other users, etc.  Only a user with the role of Instructor may add another Instructor to a course site.


Student
Student is the default role assigned to users who are enrolled in a course.  Students do not have the ability to edit anything within the course.  The only changes a student may make to a course are uploading files to the Dropbox and adding new messages in Discussions.  Instructors set up these tools before they are accessible by students.

Instructors, Teaching Assistants and Graders may add users with the role of Student to course sites.


Student(I)
Users enrolled with the Student (I) designation have the same permission as reguarly enrolled Students.  This designation is reserved for students who previously received a grade of Incomplete in the course.


Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistants have many of the same permissions as Instructors.  The differences in the Teaching Assistant and Instructor roles are listed below. 

Teaching Assistants are not automatically put into all course groups and they cannot:

  • Access course Grades
  • Delete course feedback
  • Delete or edit discussion messages posted by others
  • View or enable the course Address Book
  • Create personal LiveRoom chats
  • Manage homepage widgets
  • Take Surveys as student
  • View User Progress
  • Enroll an Instructor
  • Create release conditions for Checklists, LiveRoom chats, widgets