skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

Criminal Justice & Criminology

College of Arts & Sciences

New Online Master's Program for Fall 2019. For more information, click here.

In conjunction with the goals of East Tennessee State University and the College of Arts and Sciences, the Department offers three programs that encompass a philosophy of liberal arts education grounded in social science methodologies. The two undergraduate programs facilitate mastery of basic academic competencies and provide a basic level of expertise in the field of criminal justice and criminology. The two undergraduate programs are: Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science with a concentration Social & Behavioral Science.

The Department of Criminal Justice & Criminology is proud to offer three programs for individuals interested in pursuing a graduate degree in the field. The on-campus M.A. is designed to provide students with an in-depth understanding of crime, its causes, and the operations of the criminal justice system. Courses are offered on our main campus in Johnson City, typically during evening hours. The online M.A. is structured after the on-campus version, but designed to provide practitioners and those interested in entering the field with applied coursework and the ability to complete all requirements via distance learning. Our graduate certificate in Forensic Document Examination (FDEX) is the only program of its type in the country, offering an overview of document examination and handwriting analysis for those seeking academic credentials in the field.

The Department is located in 201 Rogers Stout Hall on the Johnson City Campus of East Tennessee State University. For information not found on this website call (423) 439-5346, or send a fax to (423) 439-4660. For a Google Maps to Rogers Stout Hall, click here.

For Advising Contact:
Martha Edde
3rd Floor, Sherrod Library
201 Roger Stout
If no answer, please call Dr. Edwards @ 423-439-4671 or email @


Field Experience


Online Master's Program


CJCR Scholarship Info
Email Christine Ketelaar at for information and application.

2020 Honor's Day

Award Winners

Outstanding Graduate Student:

Rychelle Moses

Distinguished Graduate Students:

Logan Ledford

Gabriella Smith

Outstanding Undergraduate Student:

Hongyen Aujla

Distinguished Undergraduate Student:

Timothy Hasemeier


icon for left menu icon for right menu