skip to main content columnskip to left navigation


Clemmer College

Praxis Information

Praxis FAQ

What is a Praxis test?

The Praxis Series tests are taken by individuals entering the teaching profession as part of the certification process required by many states and professional licensing organizations. There are two types of Praxis Examinations: the Praxis Core (formerly Praxis I) and the Praxis Subject Assessments (formerly Praxis II). All student pursuing licensure are required to complete a selection of Praxis Subject Assessments according to the licensure they are pursuing. Students who have not scored 22 or higher on the ACT and/or 1020 or higher on the SAT must also take the Praxis Core series. You can find more information concerning the Tennessee Praxis requirements here.

When should I take my Praxis Core (formerly Praxis I)?

If you have not received either a 22 or higher on the ACT or a 1020 or higher on the SAT, then you are required to pass ALL Praxis Core tests. You should take the Praxis Core Test by the end of your Freshman year. Transfer students should complete the Praxis Core series upon transferring as you may be required to board immediately. Praxis Core Test are offered year round.

When should I take my Praxis Subject Assessment (Formerly Praxis II)?

All Praxis Subject Assessments must be passed before any student can progress into Residency II. You should attempt any required Praxis Subject Assessments as early as comfortably possible to ensure your ability to retest if necessary. We recommend beginning the summer proceeding Residency I.  Requirements for graduate students may vary by program.

Praxis Subject Assessments (Formerly Praxis II) are available only in limited testing windows.You may find available testing windows using the drop down menu provided at the bottom of this link.

What Praxis Subject Assessments am I required to pass for my program?

All students must pass the appropriate Principles of Teaching and Learning (PLT) for their grade level and all Praxis Subject Assessments required by your licensure area. Follow this link and select your licensure area to find your specific requirements. 

Where can I take my Praxis?  

In addition to the ETSU Testing Center, there are additional locations that you may take your Praxis Series assessments. You can find available locations by entering your zip-code here, and you will be required to select a location when you register for your assessment. Regardless of your testing locations, you must request that your scores be reported to ETSU during your registration process.

How do I register for my Praxis?

You may register for all your Praxis Series tests by creating or signing into your account here. 

For more information on Praxis Testing, visit the Educational Testing Service (ETS) website

icon for left menu icon for right menu