skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Quillen College of Medicine


Psychiatry is a unique branch of medicine. It allows physicians to combine evidence-based science with the skill of human interaction and that artistic touch innate to the individual practitioner. Our program is designed to teach board-relevant topics in current psychiatric practice while encouraging individual expression in its delivery.

The East Tennessee State University Department of Psychiatry provides residents a tailored, fully credentialed training experience allowing individuals the opportunity to develop skills in adult psychiatry while allowing for development in other areas such as child/adolescent, geriatrics, women's issues, forensics and research. The residents of our program enjoy training under a diverse group of faculty from a variety of backgrounds. They enjoy a collegial atmosphere intended to promote the advancement of residents to attending level psychiatrists.

With the support of Dr. Louis Cancellaro (MD, PhD; Professor Emeritus) the ETSU Department of Psychiatry was created in 1978. The original resident class size of one, in December 1985, eventually expanded to 5 and we now enjoy a total complement of approximately 20 psychiatry residents. Our residency program will provide interested residents with the opportunity to develop the clinical skills to tackle complex issues in the field of psychiatry.

Dr. Shambhavi Chandraiah is fostering  a philosophy of success through resident involvement, and work to promote the development of residents into successful practitioners of psychiatry. Our vision includes serving the region of East Tennessee and surrounding areas with comprehensive, individualized mental health care as we forge new territory in the advances of psychiatric treatment.

For more information on our program, please click on:
Interested in becoming one of our residents?



icon for left menu icon for right menu