skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

University Governance

East Tennessee State University

Radiation Safety

Reports to:

President through the Executive Management Committee, which consists of the Executive Director of Facility Services, Director of Environmental Health and Safety, Chief Financial Officer, Chief Operating Officer, and Associate Vice President for Facilities.


The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) is the governing body for all aspects of radiation protection at East Tennessee State University.   The function of the RSC is to ensure that radioactive material, licensed under the broadscope radioactive material license are used safely and in compliance with state, federal and local regulations related to radioactive materials.

The directives of the RSC are carried out by the RSO who is responsible for day to day operations of the Radiation Safety Program and has the authority to alter, modify, suspend or terminate any use of licensed material that is deemed a threat to health, safety or the environment or to be a violation of rules and regulations of the license conditions.   The RSC provides technical advice, assistance and management level support to the RSO in implementing the radiation safety program.   The RSO is responsible for keeping the RSC apprised of all major actions taken to implement and ensure compliance with radiation safety rules and regulations.

The RSC was established by the Executive Management Committee under the authority of the President of East Tennessee State University.   The RSC membership includes faculty and technical representatives from campus areas where radiation is used.   The RSC chairman is a faculty member having radiation research experience who is familiar with ETSU’s policy concerning radiation use.    The chair works closely with the RSO to ensure the directives of the RSC are being implemented by the Radiation Safety Officer. Additional members of the RSC include the RSO, representatives from Environmental Health and Safety and university administration.   Other departments may be asked to participate if a need arises.  

The RSC meets at least once each calendar quarter at a time arranged by the chair.   Additional meetings may be called if circumstances dictate the need.   Duties and responsibilities of the RSC consist of the following functions: 

  • Assist in the implementation of radiation safety policy at the university.
  • Review audits, inspections, radiation incident summaries and annual reviews required by the license.
  • Review in conjunction with the RSO uses and locations of radionuclides.
  • Review the RSO’s summary report of the occupational radiation exposure records.
  • Advise the RSO in technical matters involving the use of radioactive source.
  • Review, for approval, all applications and amendments for use of radioactive materials by university personnel.
  • Review reports from the RSO including reports of incidents or unusual occurrences involving radionuclides.
  • Recommend action to correct any deficiencies.
  • Carry out disciplinary action against personnel who violate the rules and regulations of the license.   The disciplinary action can include probation, suspension, and revocation of the privilege to work with radioactive materials.  

A quorum of the Radiation Safety Committee shall consist of 2/3 of the existing membership.   The quorum must include the chair and Radiation Safety Officer.

Specific information concerning ETSU’s Radiation Materials License, training, forms and procedures for the use of radioactive materials may be found on the University Radiation Safety web site


Membership Structure

Voting; all terms indefinite

Memberhip on the RSC shall include, but is not limited to:

  • Radiation Safety Officer
  • Representatives from the various Schools, Colleges, and Offices at ETSU who have experience in handling radioactive materials in research, development, training, and instruction.
  • A representative of the University administration. This representative reports directly to the President providing information on the relevant issues of the RSC. This individual also represents administration views on radiation safety.
  • A member of the Executive Management Committee
  • A technical representative of the campus Environmental Health and Safety unit

Updated 25 January 2019

icon for left menu icon for right menu