skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

University Governance

East Tennessee State University

Service-Learning / Community and Public Service Standing Committee
Reports to: President
Charge: Encourage ETSU students to derive personal value from service-learning opportunities that link education, work/community, and personal development;

Integrate and sustain in depth and quality service-learning/ community and public service;

Promote, educate, support and expand service-learning and community and public service efforts;

Sponsor and develop partnerships to provide service and leadership lectures and educational opportunities;

Seek resources to sustain and meet goals of service-learning/community and public service;

Develop and maintain a systematic process for data collection of service across ETSU;

Respond to community service recognitions (i.e. President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll, Carnegie Community Engagement Classifications, etc.);

Review courses and projects to meet service-learning criteria;

Establish recognition for faculty/staff and students that excel in community and public service as providers, mentors, and researchers; and

Assure compliance with SACS Community and Public Service.

Membership Structure Name Term
Director of Service-Learning

Teresa Brooks Taylor

Dean, representing Deans' Council Randy Wykoff 2015
Department Chair, representing Council of Chairs Janna Scarborough 2016
Staff Senator Lisa Rowland 2017
College of Arts and Sciences Kelly Foster
Lev Yampolsky
College of Business and Technology Terry Countermine 2017
College of Clinical & Rehabilitative Health Sciences Shirley Cherry 2018
College of Education Cindy Chambers
Kathryn Sharp
College of Medicine Theresa Lura
Ramsey McGowen
College of Nursing Sandy Halford 2017
College of Pharmacy Robin Henry 2015
College of Public Health Mary Ann Littleton 2015
Honors College Daniel Hedden 2015
Interprofessional Education Committee Sharon Loury 2015
Sustainability Kathleen Moore 2016
Student Affairs: Greek Life and Community Service Programs Joy Fulkerson 2016
University Relations Carol Fox 2016
Bristol, Community Representatives Kathy Waugh 2015
Johnson City, Community Representatives Janie Snyder 2015
Kingsport, Community Representatives Nicole Austin 2017
Student Government Brandon Johnson 2015
Graduate and Professional Student Association Courtney Haun 2015
Director of Institutional Effectiveness Cheri Clavier 2018
President's Office
Chief of Staff- External Operations (non-voting)
Jeremy Ross Indefinite
Executive Assistant to the President for Community and Government Relations (non-voting) Bridget Baird Indefinite
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and SACS Liaison (post-retirement; non-voting) Marshall Grube Indefinite
Assistant to Provost for Institutional Research (non-voting) Mike Hoff Indefinite

Updated: 16 June 2015

icon for left menu icon for right menu