University Presidents 1.6

President Sidney Gordon Gilbreath 1910 - 1925 *died 1961*

Dean David Sinclair Burleson, Acting President 1925 *died 1953*

> Dr. Charles C. Sherrod 1925 – 1949 *died 1967*

Dr. Burgin E. Dossett 1949 – 1968 *died 1993*

Dr. Delos P. Culp 1968 – 1977 *died 2000*

Dr. Arthur H. DeRosier 1977 – 1980

Dr. Ronald E. Beller 1980 - 1991

Dr. Bert C. Bach, Interim President 1991 – 1992

> Dr. Roy S. Nicks 1992 – 1996

Dr. Paul E. Stanton 1997-

University Name Changes

- 1909 East Tennessee State Normal School
- (Act of Tennessee General Assembly 1909, Public Acts Chapter 264)
- 1911 (First Class Admitted)
- 1924 East Tennessee State Teachers College
- 1930 State Teachers College, Johnson City
- 1943 East Tennessee State College
- 1963 East Tennessee State University